Why I Keto

Hi, I’m Tamsyn and I started the ketogenic diet this past January. This is why I keto…

Like most people, I saw a friend on social media doing keto with much success and wanted to check it out for myself. My husband had been wanting to try it for the past year, but I was busy spending the early part of 2016 living part time in the gym and frantically tracking calories. I lost a little weight, started getting toned, and fell in love with weight lifting, but when Summer rolled in with its back to back vacations and various travel the whole thing crumbled. I gained the weight back and then some.

When I came home from holiday travels just after the new year and my weight was out of control again, I knew it was time to finally slay the demon – my tumultuous relationship with food. It was an abusive, sugar fueled affair going back to my childhood. I cheated on myself, my future self, with food. Now with two young daughters under foot I knew it was only a matter of time until they fell victim. It was no longer just about me. With the idea from a friend and support of my husband, I dove into the ketogenic lifestyle.

Within the first six weeks that demon was beheaded with it’s smug face on a steak by the front door. Cookies were no longer my drug. Cake no longer whispered sweet nothings in my ear to calm the anxiety. Bread no longer served as ship to Flavortown. I was free.

I’ve taken a great interest in keto and enjoy researching the topic often. I’m no doctor or expert, but I look forward to sharing my keto journey here. Perhaps it will encourage you to seek more information, help you discover a new dish, or inspire you to forge on when stuck in a rut.

More to come.

Tam

Leave a Reply

